Your favorite martial arts exercise?

My sitaigung (grand-grandmaster) Ho Fatt Nam practicing One Finger Shooting Zen, the force training exercise that he emphasized above all others. Image taken from www.shaolin.org

My sitaigung (great-grandmaster) Ho Fatt Nam practicing One Finger Shooting Zen, the force training exercise that he emphasized above all others. Image taken from http://www.shaolin.org

I posed the following question to the G+ Martial Artists forum: What is your favorite exercise or genre of exercise in your art(s)? 

For me, it’s a close call between stance training and One Finger Shooting Zen. I think that One Finger Shooting Zen just barely scoots ahead. My own great-grandmaster (“sitaigung”) and grandmaster (“sigung”) emphasized this force training set once a certain foundation of stances, flexibility, and footwork had been built; my great-grandmaster practiced this art and almost nothing else everyday for three plus years to develop the arts of One Finger Zen and Tiger Claw. My grandmaster had his first taste of developing internal force through this set. 

You can watch a video of my grandmaster teaching the One Finger Shooting Zen set here: The Art of One Finger Shooting Zen  My thanks to Sigung for sharing his arts so openly; it’s rightly called the “Treasure” of Shaolin Wahnam. 

Speak your mind here!

