Why did I choose Baguazhang?

Dong Hai Chuan, the patriarch of Baguazhang. Image taken from www.shaolin.org

Dong Hai Chuan, the patriarch of Baguazhang. Image taken from http://www.shaolin.org

There are hundreds, probably thousands of martial arts in the world. A natural question to ask a practitioner is why do they practice their chosen art? Here are a few reasons why I practice Baguazhang. 

The earliest reason was from hearing that practitioners have excellent and agile footwork and are able to get to an opponent’s sides and back with ease. The next reason was from hearing that imperial and royal bodyguards practiced this art in the nineteenth century, and I have a strong sense to protect those who are weaker than I am. The “luckiest” reason for me to choose Baguazhang was that my sigung (teacher of my teacher, aka grandmaster) was offering a week-long intensive on Baguazhang and the timing was perfect for me. =D

As to “why internal styles,” that’s a hard question for me to answer. Because of the skills I’ve learnt at Shaolin Wahnam, I can practice any kung fu in an “internal method,” even arts normally considered external like Choy Li Fatt or Lohan kung fu. I guess I’ll answer it as an “internal method” manner: I end each practice session fresher and with more energy than before and I am able to pursue my practice for various ends, such as physical health & fitness, mental clarity, and spiritual cultivation. I consider myself quite lucky.

Grandmaster Wong Kiew Kit demonstrating much better Baguazhang and sense of style than me.

I will take virtually any excuse I can to post this awesome image of Grandmaster Wong Kiew Kit demonstrating Baguazhang. Image taken from http://www.shaolin.org

Speak your mind here!

